Buchanan County Virginia  

Dickenson County

Russell County

Tazewell County

McDowell County

Mingo County

Pike County

Table of Contents

How to Contribute

This free script provided by Jav
 Buchanan County, Virginia was formed February 13, 1858. The majority of which came from Tazewell County, and the southwestern part from Russell County. The new county was named for the setting President, James Buchanan, the 15th President of the United States.
The County lies in the Southwestern part of Virginia, just north of the 37th parallel. Today, its various borders join Pike County, Kentucky, McDowell and Mingo Counties in West Virginia and Dickenson, Russell and Tazewell Counties in Virginia.
A variety of surnames migrated into the county to begin harvest of an abundance of natural resources, like coal and timber, which ushered in the railroad.
The mountainous terrain is scenic and rugged. Early settlers took to the mountaintops to carve out their own special paradise, in this wonderland of nature.

   We are still under construction. Thanks for your patience.    
  • Peggy Fuller Keen is the county coordinator.
    Last updated  February 4, 2015
    If you have information or photos to add please contact me.
  • © 2012 by Peggy Fuller Keen

 Since February 4, 2015
Digits Web Counter
All materials contained on these pages are furnished for the free use of those engaged in researching their family origins. Any commercial use, without the consent of the host/author of these pages is prohibited. All images used on these pages were obtained from sources permitting free distribution, or generated by the author, and are subject to the same restrictions/permissions. All persons contributing material for posting on these pages do so in recognition of their free, non-commercial distribution, and further, are responsible to assure that no copyright is violated by their submission.